Tea for Two – Printing

We had lovely Anne Gibbs to give us an intense introduction into printmaking, and how it can help us develop our ideas and use the imagery and techniques on clay.


Using water-based inks for easier cleaning and benefit of environment, Anne showed us throughout the day different print techniques such as addition, subtraction, blocking, mono-printing and mark making with different range of tools.
Printing with Ann GibbsPrinting with Anne Gibbs

Printing with Anne Gibbs

 

The workshop was absolutely amazing with the artist giving us live feedback and talking to us about our current project and exploration.

I was able to reflect on my prints and decide straight away what approach would be best to continue and explore my theme.

I came out with a range of interesting prints and passion to explore the printmaking further.
Printing with Anne Gibbs

 

 

 

Next week we started to apply the learned techniques onto leather hard slabs of clay.
The ink consisted of printing medium mixed with stains.
I used some of my plaster shapes to print with and feed the 3D into 2D imagery.
Preparing for print workshop with Ann GibbsPrinting on clay with Anne Gibbs

 

 

 

Later in the Term I took an opportunity to get inducted into developing images onto silk screen and print through it.
I built on my imagery explored with Anne with architectural motives.

 

Exposing screen in print workshop

 

 

 

Printing with a screen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I ended up with a number of prints I could compile into a small book, book-band by me.
Screen Printing

Published by

Marek Liska

https://ceramicliska.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Tea for Two – Printing”

Leave a Reply

